The Commission offers two professional credentialing programs: Certification and Accreditation.

Standards for Certification

The Certification Program currently consists of 159 standards, all of which are mandatory.  These carefully selected standards impact officer and public safety, address high liability/risk management issues, and generally promote operational efficiency throughout an agency.  Any standard that is not a function or responsibility of the agency will be deemed not applicable and will be waived through a formal waiver process.

Since the 159 standards for certification are part of the 257 mandatory standards for accreditation, certification is a significant milestone towards accreditation.  It is the policy of the Commission that agencies must successfully achieve certification before being assessed for accreditation.

Standards for national accreditation as established by the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies, Inc. (CALEA) provide the framework for standards in the Massachusetts Police Accreditation Program.

Below are some of the topical areas covered:

  • Agency Authority, Jurisdiction and Use of Force
  • Recruitment, Selection, and Promotion of Personnel
  • Training, Discipline and Internal Affairs
  • Patrol, Traffic Operations and Criminal Investigations
  • Victim/Witness Assistance
  • Emergency Response Planning
  • Prisoner Transportation and Holding Facilities
  • Records and Communications
  • Collection and Preservation of Evidence
  • Property and Evidence Control

This slideshow requires JavaScript.